Education

VDLC education programs are open, accessible, and affordable.  From labour law and progressive economics to public speaking and social policy, we offer training, seminars, and workshops on a range of topics that are timely and important to trade unionists and social justice activists.

We limit our class sizes to maximize learning, and ensure that every participant is encouraged to participate and make the most of their experience.

Union membership is not required. Many unions will reimburse student costs, and some financial scholarships are available.

Registration can be paid with cash, cheque (payable to the VDLC), e-transfer, or with a credit card (contact VDLC). 

Anita Yan Memorial Labour Law Series

Our Anita Yan Memorial Labour Law Education program is taught by lawyers and advocates who work exclusively for unions and workers. Other education sessions are presented by activists and educators who are experts in their field. These programs complement other education offered through unions, the Canadian Labour Congress (Harrison Winter School) or other training.

Named in recognition of an inspiring union organizer who died too young, this program provides top quality reviews of current labour law and tips for success when working in a legal framework.

Registration for the Winter/Spring 2021 Program opens December 15, 2020 at 9:00am

VDLC Labour Education Program Fall 2021 Booklet (PDF)

Course Information and Registration 

Job Steward Level 1 - Saturday January 16 --- SOLD OUT!

Job Steward Level 2 - Saturday January 30 --- SOLD OUT!

Duty to Accommodate & Return to Work - Monday thru Wednesday February 22 to 24 --- SOLD OUT!

Bullying and Harassment - Friday February 26 --- SOLD OUT!

WCB Level 1 - Tuesday March 9 --- Seats still available!

WCB Level 2 - Wednesday March 10 --- Seats still available!

Effective Representation in High-Conflict Situations - Monday March 15 --- SOLD OUT!  

Parliamentary Procedure and Effective Meetings - Thursday March 18 --- Seats still available!

Bargaining Basics During COVID - Wednesday April 7

WCB Appeals - Friday April 30

Canada Labour Code Part 1 - Monday May 10

Benefit Plans and COVID-19 - Tuesday May 11

Canada Labour Code Part 2 - Monday May 17

Privacy Rights in the Workplace - Thursday May 20

Charter Rights in the Workplace - Wednesday June 2

A six week evening series presented by the Vancouver & District Labour Council